top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaren Wenqing Ye

Meditation #4

I'm really interested in subconsciousness and how it reflects about the state of the mind.

Practicing automatic writing/drawing gives me great creative energy and actual inspirations for creations with consciousness. Inventing a method facilitating automatic writing may be a great productivity tool for creatives.


First off, I tried with some automatic writing exercises in English and Chinese:


English:


Why river flows, my heart bleeds, unicorn I just saw in the write with transformer example stucks in my head

Its hard to not delete, its hard to set free

My hands lean towards keyboard more than a pencil and paper

Because I want to delete

And rewrite

But this is not the case here

Im still typing, it gets flowing

Like river

I wonder where are the stones

Will they suddenly appear

Slipping down from the mountain

To greet me, to stop me,

from deleting



Chinese:


兰花是种什么花 眼前的窗帘上的花

隔离的十四天对时间的感知和物理时间有所差池

中文比英文更加难automatic这是我没有想到的

更习惯的语言赋予了更习惯的姿势

删除后悔删除无法删除

往前进是什么意思 都说了时间可能是非线性的现在的存在牵动着过去和未来

而不是先有过去再有现在和未来 所以三者只能同时存在

有通达的感觉后还是似懂非懂

咬文嚼字没有意思记忆的欺骗性利用记忆利用你利用善良

多少人的邪恶也只是为了自保

自保是邪恶的

又回到了老话里又删除了

再多看一眼眼前的兰花

多了一行字


Translation(based on google translate):


What kind of flowers are orchids? they are the flowers as the pattern of the curtain, sits in front of me The fourteen days of quarantine, the perception of time is different than physical time Chinese is more difficult than English automatic, which I did not expect More accustomed language creates more accustomed posture the posture of Delete regret delete cannot be deleted What does it mean to move forward? It is said that time may be nonlinear. The existence of the present affects the past and the future. Instead of the past, then the present and the future, so the three can only exist at the same time i still can't fully understand after epiphany

Cheating on words, meaningless memories, deceptive use of memory, use of your goodness How many people's evil is just to protect themselves Self-preservation is evil Back to the old words and deleted Take another look at the orchid in front of you One more line


During the process, I noticed I was grabbing memories from the earliest activities, looking around my surrounding environment, (can't resist) thinking about the abstract themes I've been always thinking about, and directions I need to take in the future...I found it interesting that I make the writing structured as a poem.


Then I tried the infamous AI Poet Ms.Xiaobing https://poem.msxiaobing.com/ She asks you to provide a picture of inspiration and some keywords and she generates three different poems in less than 10 seconds.


Like what Xiaobing does, (though I doubt how much she relies on the sources I provide) there are many methods to facilitate automatic writing manually, such as providing some pictures and keywords. I propose a digital system which can integrate personal info and infos online. The user have certain choices, and then the system generates a synthesized info involving randomness and choices for the user.


For example, it asks you to answer the following questions before you write:


Choose a date for the weather (only yesterday, today or tomorrow)

Describe what is that weather like

Does your mood match with the weather?


List one thing happened to you recently?

Randomly choose a news online




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page